It’s official…or is it?

Although they haven’t started filming yet, the cast for Star Wars Episode VII has been “officially” announced.  I personally am somewhat disappointed that they haven’t got any really good actors portraying the new characters. header.jpg

The new cast includes John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow.

I’ll admit I’ve never actually heard of most of them except Andy Serkis and Max Von Sydow.  Chances are Sydow’s role will be short lived because of his age…likely some sort of high ranking general or a Sith lord in the newest installment. As for the rest, well. let’s hope the casting director and JJ Abrams know what they are doing.

Although the original cast is being pulled out of mothballs, I find it unlikely that they too will endure beyond this movie and will likely only see cameo roles.

Again I am somewhat upset that the Expanded Universe is being thrown out the window so to speak but I do hope that they try to incorporate some of the elements brought forth by the novelization timeline. I am keeping my fingers, toes, arms and eyes crossed!

Leave a Reply

