Delusions of Grandeur? Maybe not….

jj-abrams-star-warsI read an article a few months ago about an interview with Anthony Daniels (C-3P0).  In it he stated that he believes that “Episode VII – The Force Awakens will be better than The Empire Strikes Back”.  For Star Wars fans, that’s a big statement.

Coming from the man that has been the physical and vocal (cartoons, video games etc.) character of C-3P0 for almost 40 years, I first though this was a jaded perspective.  I thought of course he would say something like that because Star Wars has been his primary source of income for 4 decades.Perhaps I was too critical of his comments because I thought he was just trying to pump up the new film.

After recently watching JJ Abrams second movie in the other space franchise…ok I’ll say it, Star Trek…I must admit that he really knows what he is doing.  I though the second film was way better than the first and it was very entertaining.  I kept thinking to myself if he and the writer from The Empire Strikes Back, Mr. Lawrence Kasdan, wrote a great script for Episode VII then it is a certainty that it will be very well directed.

Maybe Threepio is right.  Could The Force Awakens be better or equal to The Empire Strikes Back?  As a fan, I sure hope so…I’ll just have to wait another 299 days to find out!

Leave a Reply

